Bad iTunes. No!

Don’t get me wrong, iTunes is a great piece of software. But does Apple really have to change the user interface with every fucking release? I quite liked the view I had before — two columns at top (Artist and Album) and the list of songs pared down by the selection from one or each of these.

I disabled the Genre column, since my music doesn’t classify easily. But why the hell should I have to use

defaults write com.apple.iTunes show-genre-when-browsing -bool FALSE

to disable something so obvious? This to me seemed like the sort of thing that should be able to be changed either via the preferences pane, or, even better, by right clicking on the heading bar. Give me a list of options and a little tick.

While we’re at it, why should I have to use

defaults write com.apple.iTunes show-store-arrow-links -bool FALSE

to disable the store links?

Thirdly, why the fuck would I need a store link to a song I already have?

Yet in spite of its faults, I quite liked iTunes 8. So what does Apple do? Changes the user interface. Again.

I’d started using Songbird on my PC as my main media library, since

  1. I hate the way Media Player organises my media (seriously, Disc 1 and Disc 2 as separate entries?)
  2. I hate the way iTunes tries to install every last piece of Apple software, especially since I don’t even own an iPod

The only thing I’d really like to see is the ability to rip CDs in Songbird. Other than that, it is, to me, the best media player around.

So thank you, Apple, for convincing me to switch to Songbird on my Mac as well now.


Update: I notice that CD Ripping is included in the Roadmap for the Kanye release, scheduled for October. Given that the Jackson 5 release is a month overdue, I’m not expecting it on time, but hopefully by the end of the year it will be available. Songbird FTW!

Update Update: Ooh, transcoding, too.

~ by MattR on September 16, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
