Subversion and Vim

After finally getting sick of receiving

svn: system('vim svn-commit.tmp') returned 256

every time I tried to commit without using the -m option, I found some good advice:

cd ~/.vim
mv doc/rails.txt plugin/rails.vim ~/.Trash

Since I still like my Rails plugin, the option in the comments of using

SVN_EDITOR="vim --noplugin"

finally fixed the problem without killing my Vim setup. Just add/change that line and run source ~/.profile.

~ by MattR on September 18, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
